On The Plains

Haxtun in Phillips County of eastern Colorado has a population about 900, mostly a “company town” for CHS Grainland as is other area towns nearby. Wheat, corn and soybeans the local industry with one grocery store, a café, liquor store, hardware, schools, a few churches and a hospital. I chose this quiet place to buy a retirement home because it was affordable, friendly and midway between I-76 Sterling and the Nebraska Panhandle. In the country one makes their own entertainment without bullies or gangs-rather go fishing/ boating in several state park resevoirs; go birdwatching on county road fence lines or hunting/ trap shooting.  Last July I attended a street party of classic cars meeting my new neighbors. I hope to resume my art interests, maybe introduce painting to the locals; volunteer some time to community activities. I can get to Denver in few hours’ drive and the mountains as well; Wyoming isn’t all that far either. Who needs to pay high rent or crazy taxes in a resort town paralyzed by I-70 sprawl/ gridlock?

Leave a comment