Rattlesnake in the Vault Toilet!

Back in mid-April I spent two nights at Hite Crossing, UT95 campsite where the Dirty Devil River meets the Colorado flowing into northern Lake Powell. The spring weather was unsettled with threatening dark clouds and a violent windstorm the second night, nearly collapsing my tent. About 6am the next morning I walked over to use the toilet house when I heard a hissing sound like plumbing or air escaping-except there's no plumbing...over in the corner by the door sat a coil in the dingy early light. There was a rattlesnake in the toilet! I should've brought my flashlight but I was hurrying to break camp. I held up my jacket in front of me as I quickly exited to fetch my camera.  I've later determined this sleepy, non-aggressive specimen not to be a diamondback, but rather a desert massasauga with the stripe through the eye, the red color and oval markings. Pretty cool huh? I'm glad it got out of the wind-and didn't hit me!

Back in mid-April I spent two nights at Hite Crossing, UT95 campsite where the Dirty Devil River meets the Colorado flowing into northern Lake Powell. The spring weather was unsettled with threatening dark clouds and a violent windstorm the second night, nearly collapsing my tent. About 6am the next morning I walked over to use the toilet house when I heard a hissing sound like plumbing or air escaping-except there’s no plumbing…over in the corner by the door sat a coil in the dingy early light. There was a rattlesnake in the toilet! I should’ve brought my flashlight but I was hurrying to break camp. I held up my jacket in front of me as I quickly exited to fetch my camera. I’ve later determined this sleepy, non-aggressive specimen not to be a diamondback, but rather a desert massasauga with the stripe through the eye, the red color and oval markings. Pretty cool huh? I’m glad it got out of the wind-and didn’t hit me!

West 2015 821

Leave a Reply

